Basic Structure of the National Government – Part 1

Most of the governments around the world have been seen to be comprised of three main branches or rather parts namely the executive, the legislature and the judiciary. The federal government is nothing short of this as it is also formed or rather comprises of the three branches aforementioned. All the three divisions have their different functions, and they work together, though independently, to ensure that the activities of the nation are conducted in the best way possible. This paper seeks to discuss the three branches of the government as well as their functions in ensuring the smooth running of the country.


In the United States of America, the president, in conjunction with other administrators in the government is concerned with the governing of this particular branch of the government. The president is usually voted into office by the American citizens who are of age 18 years and above. Once elected in his position, one of the responsibilities that he is deemed with is the enforcement of the laws that are passed in the congress. It is worth noting that the president may gain more votes all over the nation during an election but would still fail to win the race, and this may be so due to the powers of the people in the Electoral College who are the primary determinants of the winner in any given election.


In the United States, the legislative branch of the government is also referred to as the congress. It is deemed with the responsibility of law making. The congress is usually divided into two main parts, and these are the senate and the House of Representatives. The Senate comprises of 100 members each state having two representatives. The house of representatives, on the other hand, has 435 representatives. The function of the representatives is to discuss and thus determine whether the bills passed should be made into laws. One factor that is used in the determination of representative each state gets is the population of the state. It is for this reason that we have some states having up to 40 representatives in the House of Representatives whereas other have only two. Both the House of Representatives as well as the senates are elective posts, and this means that voters elect them from their respective states.


The judiciary is the final branch of the government ad is one that is very crucial. It comprises the Supreme Court and nine justices. In the judiciary, there are individual judges whose primary duty is to interpret the law using the Constitution. Such judges are responsible for the hearing of cases that have issues relating to the Constitution only. The Supreme Court is the highest court in the United States. The federal judicial system also has lower courts each located in the states, and they are deemed with the responsibility of hearing the cases that are related to one way or the other with the federal government. The Washington DC state hosts the headquarters of the federal governments in the United States.